Back to Blog
ComparisonsSeptember 15, 202615 min read

Monarch Money Alternatives for Europe and the UK: 8 Apps Compared (2026)

Monarch Money works only in the US and Canada. Eight alternatives for UK and EU households compared on bank sync, currencies, sharing and price, checked September 2026.

L

Lumy Editorial

A North American bank connector that does not fit a European bank card, beside a shared household budget holding several currencies

Disclosure: Lumy publishes this guide and makes one of the eight apps compared. No company paid for inclusion; apps are grouped by problem, not ranked, and Lumy gets the same limits section as the others. We did not connect bank accounts for this article. Competitor facts come from official websites, help centres and app-store listings, checked on 15 September 2026.

US-written budgeting reviews usually end with Monarch Money or YNAB. In Leeds, Lisbon or Leipzig, that advice soon breaks. Monarch says it is currently only available in the US and Canada. YNAB works in Europe, but it bills in US dollars and connects only to selected UK and EU banks. Neither suits a household paid in more than one currency.

Quick answer

  • UK, want automatic open-banking sync: Emma, or YNAB if you want zero-based budgeting and your bank is listed.
  • EU, one currency, want sync: Finanzguru if you bank in Germany or Austria. Elsewhere, Spendee or Wallet by BudgetBakers.
  • Household with several currencies: Spendee or Wallet if you need sync. Lumy Pro for manual, receipt or voice entry. Avoid tools that show one symbol for every account.
  • Envelope or zero-based fans: YNAB (paid in USD), Goodbudget (free plan, manual entry outside the US) or Actual Budget.
  • Free and open source: Actual Budget, if you can run a small server.
  • No bank link at all: Lumy, Goodbudget or Actual without sync.

What US reviews leave out about Monarch and YNAB

Monarch Money. Monarch's currency article says every amount is shown with a $ symbol and that the app "does not differentiate between currencies behind the scenes and does not perform any currency conversion." It recommends USD or CAD accounts only: 1,000 yen appears as $1,000. It has no near-term plans to change this. Subscriptions are billed in USD, and the US App Store lists $14.99 a month, $99.99 a year and a Plus tier at $199.99 a year. Monarch documents no support for UK or EU banks.

YNAB. YNAB's UK, Switzerland and EEA terms name Plaid Financial Ltd as the open-banking provider for UK and EEA accounts, and also mention TrueLayer. In 2025 YNAB added more banks in more countries across Europe, but still only selected banks. The price is $14.99 a month or $109 a year in US dollars, so your card's exchange rate sets the real cost. For more than one currency, YNAB recommends a separate budget for each.

How we compared the alternatives

  1. Bank coverage where you live, as the company states it.
  2. Currency handling: accounts in several currencies, or one currency per budget.
  3. Household sharing, and who pays.
  4. Method: zero-based or envelope, versus tracking.
  5. Price and billing currency, from official pages only.
  6. Exit path: can you export your data?

Where an official page says nothing, the table says "Not stated."

AppBank sync in UK/EUMulti-currencyHousehold sharingFree optionPaid price (official)
Monarch (reference)No: US and Canada onlyNo conversion; USD/CAD onlyPartner at no extra cost7-day trial$14.99/month or $99.99/year
YNABSelected UK and EU banksOne currency per budgetUp to 6 people, one subscription34-day trial$14.99/month or $109/year
EmmaUK only (60+ institutions)Not statedUltimate: +4 people, £5.99/month eachBasic, up to 2 bank logins£4.99 to £14.99/month
Spendee2,500+ providers, 48 countriesCurrency per wallet, custom ratesShared wallets; only the owner pays1 cash wallet, 1 budget$1.99 to $5.99/month
Wallet by BudgetBakers"15,000+" institutions claimed worldwideYesGroup Sharing; owner needs PremiumFree appShown in app; UK lifetime £44.99
FinanzguruGermany and AustriaNot statedNot statedFree, includes account linkingPlus €0.99/week
GoodbudgetNo: US banks onlyNot stated2 devices free, 5 on Premium20 envelopes, 1 account$10/month or $80/year
Actual BudgetEnable Banking, self-hostedNo (experimental workaround)Multi-user via OpenIDOpen sourceNo licence fee; hosting varies
LumyNone, by design44 currencies (Pro)Up to 6 members (Pro)Free plan with capsVaries by country; see store

Prices are in each company's published currency and can vary by country; check before subscribing.

The alternatives, app by app

YNAB: the zero-based reference

Best for: households that want every pound given a job and use a supported UK or EU bank.

Strengths: the most complete zero-based workflow here, one subscription for up to six people, and a 34-day trial that needs no card. Limits: USD pricing, selected banks, and one budget per currency, so no single household total. Exported plan data opens in a spreadsheet but cannot be imported back into YNAB.

Price: $14.99/month or $109/year.

Emma: UK open banking

Best for: UK households wanting several UK banks and cards categorised automatically.

Strengths: Open Banking connections to more than 60 UK institutions, including Monzo, Revolut and Starling. Pro adds offline accounts for the rest. Limits: Emma is live only in the UK, US and Canada, so an Irish or Spanish account will not connect. Multi-currency isn't mentioned, and sharing requires Ultimate plus £5.99 a month for each extra person.

Price: Plus £4.99, Pro £9.99, Ultimate £14.99 a month, cheaper yearly. Snoop (Vanquis Banking Group) is a similar free UK app; check its paid tier's price in the app.

Spendee: multi-currency wallets with EU sync

Best for: travellers and couples wanting sync plus a currency per wallet.

Strengths: 2,500+ providers across 48 listed countries and regions, including the UK, Germany, France, Spain and Poland. Each wallet has its own currency, with a main currency for totals and custom rates per transaction. Limits: bank wallets cannot be shared yet, only cash wallets. Wallet currencies lock once used, and bank connections are a Premium feature.

Price: Plus $1.99/month; Premium $5.99/month or $35.99/year; 7-day trial; prices may vary by country.

Wallet by BudgetBakers: broadest claimed coverage

Best for: households with accounts in several countries wanting one synced view.

Strengths: Group Sharing shares chosen accounts with per-account permissions; members don't need Premium. Limits: the website claims more than 15,000 institutions, but the UK App Store description says 4,000 banks. So search for your own bank and trust neither number. Group Sharing isn't available on the web app.

Price: Premium is monthly, yearly or lifetime, with prices shown in the app. UK App Store purchases range from £5.49 to £44.99 for lifetime.

Finanzguru: Germany and Austria

Best for: households banking in Germany or Austria.

Strengths: the free version includes account linking and contract recognition, and most Austrian current accounts can be connected. Limits: Finanzguru says it has no plans to connect banks outside the EU or the German-speaking region. It names Switzerland, Italy, Luxembourg, Spain and the Netherlands as unsupported. Budgets and Excel export require Plus.

Price: Plus €0.99 a week. Price tests may show some users more.

Goodbudget: envelopes entered by hand

Best for: envelope budgeters in Europe who are happy to log spending by hand.

Strengths: the free plan gives 20 envelopes, one account, two devices and a year of history, enough for a couple sharing one budget. Limits: bank sync is a Premium feature and works with US banks only. In Europe, Premium adds capacity, not sync.

Price: $10/month or $80/year.

Actual Budget: free and open source

Best for: technically confident households wanting envelope budgeting, data control and no subscription.

Strengths: Actual is open source and local-first. It imports CSV, QIF, OFX, QFX and CAMT files, syncs European banks through Enable Banking, and supports several users once you set up an OpenID provider. Limits: sync needs your own server and runs only when started. GoCardless no longer accepts new accounts. Actual does not support multiple currencies beyond an experimental workaround, and official mobile apps are deprecated in favour of a web app.

Price: no licence fee; hosting costs vary.

Lumy: manual-first family budget

Best for: households that will not connect a bank, hold money in several currencies, or pay for a lot with paper receipts.

Strengths: you add spending by typing, chat, voice or receipt scan. The scanner was built against European receipt layouts (Latin and Cyrillic scripts, decimal commas, long till rolls), and you review every scan before saving. It supports 44 currencies and family sharing for up to six members, with private accounts kept private, on iOS and Android in 12 languages. Limits: there is no automatic bank import, so the record is only as complete as your household's logging habit. Multi-currency, receipt scanning, voice entry, sharing and export all require Pro. Free caps accounts and budgets at three and history at 90 days. If you want transactions to arrive on their own, choose a bank-connected app.

Price: free to download; the Pro price varies by country. See Free and Pro and the feature list.

Does bank sync actually work for your bank? A five-minute check

Bank counts don't tell you whether your bank works. During a free trial, before paying:

  1. List the three accounts carrying most spending: usually the joint current account, main credit card and any foreign-currency account.
  2. Search for each one by its exact name and country in the add-bank screen, using the brand printed on your statement.
  3. Connect one and check that the account type came through (cards and savings are sometimes missing), how much history arrived, and that amounts match your banking app.
  4. Note the provider named on the consent screen, such as Plaid or TrueLayer. In the UK, the FCA advises checking a firm on its Financial Services Register first.
  5. Put the reconnect date in your calendar. In the UK, apps must reconfirm your consent at least every 90 days. In the EU, the EBA extended the time before your bank asks you to authenticate again from 90 to 180 days, under a regulation in force since 25 July 2023. A lapsed connection stops importing.

Decision rule: if two of your three main accounts fail, don't pay for bank sync. Use a manual-first expense tracker or a spreadsheet instead.

Currency pitfalls: an illustrative example

Illustrative household; round rates, not market quotes. A couple in Kraków budget in złoty. One salary is 12,000 PLN, a remote contract pays €1,500 into a euro account, and a weekend in London costs £300 on a card. Assume €1 = 4.25 PLN and £1 = 5.00 PLN.

  • A tool that ignores currency, as Monarch describes its own, shows income of 13,500 and a trip costing 300.
  • Converted properly, income is 12,000 + 6,375 = 18,375 PLN, and the trip costs about 1,500 PLN before card fees.
  • The error: income is understated by 4,875 PLN (about 27%), and the trip shows at one-fifth of its real cost.

One budget per currency, YNAB's approach, avoids mixing but leaves you adding totals by hand. Either way, record the original amount, the amount that left your account and any fee; our multi-currency family budget guide shows how.

Zero-based budgeting without bank sync

Zero-based budgeting needs a routine, not bank access. This works in YNAB, Goodbudget, Actual or a budget planner:

  1. On payday, assign all your income to categories until nothing is left, including a category for irregular costs.
  2. Log purchases as you pay: receipt photo, voice note or quick entry. Whoever pays logs it.
  3. Weekly, compare each account's balance with your banking app and find missing or duplicate entries.
  4. When a category runs out, move money from another one instead of letting it go negative.

Warning sign: a weekly gap above about 2% of monthly spending, two weeks running, means logging is failing: cut categories or add sync for the account that drifts. See tracking spending without a bank connection for a worked example.

Migration checklist: leaving Monarch or YNAB

  1. Pick a switch-over date, ideally the first day of a pay cycle.
  2. Export from Monarch. Settings, Data, Download Transactions gives one CSV for all accounts. Monarch recommends 5,000 transactions or fewer per download and keeps exports available after you cancel.
  3. Export from YNAB before you cancel. The files suit spreadsheets, not re-import. Moving to Actual? Its YNAB migration guide uses a community JSON exporter and flags credit-card and duplicate categories for tidying.
  4. Split the files by account and currency. Confirm foreign accounts kept their original currency.
  5. Import only history you will use; archive the full CSV and enter opening balances on the switch-over date.
  6. Run both apps for one statement cycle and compare category totals before cancelling.

What this comparison cannot tell you

A coverage claim is not a working connection, and coverage changes. We did not test connections, categorisation or support, and prices were checked on one date. Nothing here is financial advice.

  • Don't choose on headline bank counts.
  • Don't assume a UK app works in Ireland or the EU, or the other way round.
  • Don't mix currencies in a tool that doesn't convert them.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a Monarch Money alternative for Europe?

Yes: Spendee, Wallet, or Finanzguru in Germany and Austria for synced tracking; Lumy Pro for several currencies without a bank link; YNAB for zero-based budgeting with selected European banks.

What is the best Monarch Money alternative in the UK?

Emma is the closest match for automatic UK bank aggregation and bills in pounds. For zero-based budgeting, YNAB supports selected UK banks but bills in dollars.

What is a good YNAB alternative in the UK in 2026?

Goodbudget, for envelope budgeters who log by hand (its sync is US only); Actual Budget, the closest free open-source match; or Emma if you want tracking rather than zero-based budgeting.

Is there a free YNAB alternative?

Actual Budget has no licence fee. Goodbudget's free plan offers 20 envelopes and one account. Lumy's free plan covers tracking and budgets, capped at three budgets and 90 days of history.

Does YNAB work with European banks?

With selected banks, via Plaid or TrueLayer according to its UK and EEA terms. Search for your bank during the 34-day trial.

Which alternatives handle several currencies in one household?

Spendee (a currency per wallet, converted into a main currency), Wallet, and Lumy Pro with 44 currencies. YNAB recommends one budget per currency; Monarch and Actual do not convert.

Your next step

Tonight, write down the three accounts carrying most of your household's spending and each one's currency. Mixed currencies: shortlist Spendee, Wallet or Lumy. All UK accounts: start with Emma or YNAB. Then open one free trial and run the five-minute bank check before entering payment details.

Sources and methodology

Competitor facts: official sites, help centres and store listings, checked 15 September 2026. Regulation: FCA, EBA and EUR-Lex. Lumy facts: Lumy's published product information. The Kraków example is illustrative.

Prepared and fact-checked: 15 September 2026.

Was this article helpful?